Will your robot keep you warm at night?

29 Apr

When I was younger, I was astonished by the “Baby Born” and its human-like capabilities. My parents bought me the doll so I could learn how to interact with a baby when my younger brother was born. Although initially freaked out by the robot “Paro” shown in the Week 8 lecture, I realised I’m not as removed from the robot vs. human concept as I thought I was. However, having acknowledged I’m not exempt from mothering a somewhat robotic doll, I believe the line will never completely blur between breathing humans and robots. Yes I felt emotionally attached to my baby born, but I still did not worry too much when I dropped it on its head, compared to when I dropped my poor brother on his head.  The bottom line is, a robot is not a human.

Cynthia Breazal does discuss some interesting concepts in the video “The rise of personal robots” in regards to where robots may work as a substitute for human contact, however I believe it would have to be one extremely high-tech robot to fill every human role. Otherwise we may end up with an army of robots in the home to mimic the never-ending roles a human plays in another human’s life.

This blog provides a unique insight into the human vs. robot concept.

References:

Leong, Susan. 2012. “KCB206 Week 8 Lecture.” Accessed April 28, 2012. http://blackboard.qut.edu.au/webapps/portal/frameset.jsp?tab_tab_group_id=_2_1&url=%2Fwebapps%2Fblackboard%2Fexecute%2Flauncher%3Ftype%3DCourse%26id%3D_81726_1%26url%3D

Breazal, Cynthia. 2011. “The rise of personal robots.” Accessed April 28, 2012. http://www.ted.com /talk/cynthia_breazeal_the_rise_of_personal_robots.html

3 Responses to “Will your robot keep you warm at night?”

  1. cworl3 April 30, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    You got that right in saying a robot will never fill a humans role entirely. As you said there would have to be one hell of a robot to mimic human interactions entirely. We humans are so complex in our movements i doubt i will ever live to see a robot walk as smoothly as I do, let alone the rest of my daily tasks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DJ Roomba | joolsrools - April 29, 2012

    […] walking among us in the busiest of crowds, interacting with us where ever we go. As expressed in Amelia’s blog, it is without a doubt an exciting prospect to witness the human-like capabilities which robots can […]

  2. Robots, Friend or Foe? « yourdoseofchase - April 30, 2012

    […] https://kcb206amelia.wordpress.com/2012/04/29/will-your-robot-keep-you-warm-at-night/#comments […]

Leave a Reply

